saxon:adjust-to-civil-time

Converts an xs:dateTime to the local civil time in a named timezone.

adjust-to-civil-time($in as xs:dateTime?, $tz as xs:string) ➔ xs:dateTime?

Arguments

 

$in

xs:dateTime?

The date/time to be adjusted

 

$tz

xs:string

The Olson timezone name, e.g. 'America/Santiago'

Result

xs:dateTime?

Namespace

http://saxon.sf.net/

Notes on the Saxon implementation

Available since Saxon 9.2.

Details

If the input is an empty sequence, the result is an empty sequence.

Otherwise the input dateTime is adjusted to a dateTime in the civil timezone named in the second argument. This uses Olson timezone names, for example America/New_York or Europe/Paris. For example,

  • adjust-to-civil-time(xs:dateTime('2008-01-10T12:00:00Z'), 'America/New_York') returns 2008-01-10T07:00:00-05:00
  • adjust-to-civil-time(xs:dateTime('2008-07-10T12:00:00Z'), 'America/New_York') returns 2008-07-10T08:00:00-04:00

If the timezone name is not recognized, the dateTime is adjusted to UTC.